Where do you go when you’re not quite gone? After suffering an epileptic seizure, Kyle finds himself in a world that looks like ours but where nothing feels the same. This is the Stillness: an eerie, liminal alternative reality populated by those who are caught between life and death. Here, he meets his real-world crush, Farah, who is also unconscious back home.

But as they get to know each other in the Stillness, they must face the possibility of forgetting each other in the real world. The way back to life is fraught with danger, and time, for both of them, is running out. A.

Connors was inspired to write this novel based on his own experience with epilepsy A slow-burn romance at the centre of the story that is perfect for anyone who loves BookTok tropes #forcedproximity and #friendstolovers The Stillness is a wildly imaginative world that will appeal to fans of Erik J Brown, Patrick Ness and Netflix’s Stranger Things  Praise for The Girl Who Broke the Sea, A. Connors’ debut novel: “An atmospheric, satisfying YA sci-fi thriller” – Guardian “An ominous, evocative science-fiction thriller” – New Scientist