From acclaimed author Dan Smith comes a page-turning, atmospheric ghost story packed full of adventure and heart … Malaya, 1942. Nisha’s home is destroyed by war and she and her mother, Amma, flee to her father’s ancestral house in England, perched on a cliff top on the cold Northern coast.

When Amma falls gravely ill, Nisha is left to face her formidable grandmother alone. Grandmother’s rules are countless, and her Anglo-Indian granddaughter is even forbidden from climbing the old weeping tree. But when a ghost child beckons Nisha to sit under its boughs, and promises her Amma’s life in return for three truths, its pull proves irresistible …

A thrilling historical ghost story; full of adventure, grief, guilt, forgiveness and belonging A fresh angle on a wartime story: the prejudice Nisha faces as a refugee feels particularly relevant today Perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge and Emma Carroll Praise for Dan Smith: ‘Action, adventure, wolves, snow … this story has EVERYTHING. I devoured it so quickly I need to read it again.’ EMMA CARROLL on She Wolf ‘This book grabbed me from page one …

highly recommended’ HISTORICAL NOVEL SOCIETY on My Friend the Enemy